Home Services Events Contact Us Resources Testimonials

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS FOR BIRTH PARENTS (FAQs)

  1. Is there a cost to me to make an adoption plan?
    There is no cost to birthparents to place their child through adoption.

  2. What is an open adoption?
    An open adoption is when the birth and adoptive parents are identified to one another, and decide together how often and to what extent they want to be in touch. A child centered permanent plan is developed with the birth parents and the adoptive parents planning an open adoption agreement, usually with assistance of an agency. Ongoing communication may include emails, telephone conversations, pictures and updates and visits.

  3. Can I select the adoptive parents?
    You can be as involved as you like in the selection of your child’s adoptive parents. You may select the adoptive parents after viewing their portfolios (letters and pictures). The agency, or the prospective adoptive parents, can answer any questions a birthparent may have about the adoptive parents. If you would prefer, your counselor can assist you in selecting a family. Sometimes expectant/birth parents come to the agency with a family they have already identified. You can view our parent profiles here.

  4. Does the birthfather need to be involved in the adoption process?
    We encourage participation by birth fathers choosing to be actively involved in counseling and adoption planning for their child. Sometimes, the father of the child is not involved-perhaps he has left the area, or is unknown. Under the law, fathers do have rights and attempts must be made to notify then whenever a child, assumed to be theirs, is being placed for adoption. The agency can assist you with this. Your social worker will discuss your legal rights and responsibilities of the birth father and how his rights might be terminated, lacking cooperation on his part.

  5. Can I change my mind?
    Before signing any document releasing your child for adoption, you can change your mind. In Massachusetts, the law states that a birthparent cannot sign an adoption relinquishment until four days after giving birth. Once the relinquishment is signed, it is irrevocable. Adoption documents can be signed at an agency office.

    In Rhode Island, a birthparent can sign a Petition for Adoption after the child’s birth which then cannot be submitted to the court for 15 days. At that time, a court date is scheduled for the termination of birth parent right and once granted (usually 2-3 weeks after the court date), the adoption surrender is final.

    Our expectant parent counseling program encourages parents to take time before making the final decision. This can be a very emotional time, one during which we are here to provide emotional support and understanding.

 

For more information please contact us.

All site contents © Catholic Social Service, Fall River Inc. /All